Kristian Lyngstol's Blog

A free software-hacker's blog

The Future of Compiz – Take two

In late December, I sent a mail to the Compiz mail list, where I expressed my concern for the future of compiz. Basically, it all boiled down to a lack of direction and leadership, made worse by a lack of documentation, a project structure that’s nothing short of messy and two-three significant branches that had appeared.

Luckily,  the community rose to the challange, and we’re finally getting the project back on track. For those who used my post as a basis to predict the doom of Compiz; Sorry, we’re here to stay.

This morning I sent an e-mail to the Compiz mailinglist and forum on behalf of the Compiz Council,  announcing the creation of the Council, the decision to unite the project under a single banner and the preliminary road map.

This was made possible through three separate conference calls (I missed the first) with members from  the community. Thanks are due to Michael Meeks and whoever else helped make that happen. I regret that it was necessary, but it was definitley efficient, and it will allow us to work.

I would’ve expected more discussion on the forum and mailing list, but so far, the response has been somewhat slow. Hopefully, people will realise that we just revived a project that’s been dormant for the last two years when we start dropping releases in their lap.

On that note, Compiz 0.8.0 will probably be released within 2 weeks. And, I hope, closely followed by 0.9.0, the first development release with Compiz++.

9 responses to “The Future of Compiz – Take two

  1. telemako February 4, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    (google translator )

    Good news!

    For all who love compiz-fusion, hopefully this new stage is full of new features:)

    thanks desarroyadores of compiz-fusion

  2. Emil February 5, 2009 at 9:39 am

    This is fantastic! I’m just a regular poweruser and I really really appreciate compiz and the efffort you guys make!

  3. Photon February 5, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    I’m also just a user but I just want the devs to know that there are thousends of Compiz users around the world that would strongly miss Compiz if it had died. So I (and many others) are very happy that the development goes on and Compiz won’t die. I think after this crisis Compiz will be even better, more stable and easier to extend so if you guys manage to make Compiz survive the crisis it will be even positive for the further development (well, this can be said afterwards only but I think so).
    However, best wishes for success and know that there are many many users standing behind you!

  4. Rick February 5, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Thanks for your efforts!

    Why don’t you think to shift all the “stuff” to Launchpad?
    This may facilitate future packages, bugs and translations’ management. Perhaps this could also attract more help from Ubuntu Community and Canonical.
    My two cents.

  5. kristian February 5, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    There are a few reasons why we don’t move to launchpad, which is brought up every now and then.

    First, we’ll be switching FD.o for Launchpad. Less flexibility, less individuality and more paper-shuffling.

    Secondly, Ubuntu is not the only distribution out there, and certainly not the only project we cooperate with. I’m an Ubuntu-user myself, but I’m not really sure I fancy this whole world-domination thing.

    Thirdly, we already have something that works great. We never really used much, which is why we’re removing the last bits, but our own setup has been used extensively and is tuned to our needs.

    I’m also not a big fan of moving to a proprietary solution, even if there is an intention to free it up. Oh, and bzr? I don’t think so.

    While Launchpad would make it easier to move bugs back and forth between Compiz and Ubuntu, so would Freedesktop make it easier to move between drivers, Xorg and Compiz.

    The active participants of the project seem fairly satisfied with the solution of running our own services, and that in itself has never really been an issue. We will probably revisit the idea of using Launchpad after it’s released as free software, but until then, we have enough of other items to work out.

  6. alind February 9, 2009 at 10:30 am

    All things well said and I myself have used compiz, beryl, comiz fusion for some time. And i appreciate the effort made by you guys in giving a thing which is “As to the best of my knowledge” not present even in proprietry world. I still remember when i first installed it and people from far away places (in terms of room/cubicle distances) came to my desktop and say wow! u r great. Wht is this thing, etc etc. and I myself have inspired quite a hadful of guys for trying out the same. Though I have to fvwm-crystal/fvwm for speed and simplicity, I would like to comment that something has to be done in compiz for memory consumption issues and speed issues. Atleast plugins can have a rating with them specifying whether its spcl effect has low,moderate,heavy memory consumption . this wil help a lot for the user to decide on the effects.

  7. Kim February 11, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    Great news. I also hope they make configuring it also a breeze. It has too much options now in the SettingsManager. Also its confusing sometimes.

  8. Ridshack February 12, 2009 at 9:59 am

    I also appreciate what you folks are doing. The main reason why I strive to use Linux as my primary OS is because of compiz. And of course Im always showing it off. Even had some Mac users drooling… (-: Thanks, Im looking forward to the future!

  9. Shane Menshik February 19, 2009 at 12:08 am

    This sounds like great news! I am very anxious to see how this all turns out. We are in the process of rolling out some solutions for clients that use Ubuntu and Compiz-fusion, and think there is a great need for all of its features in the enterprise. The first thing we are trying to do is educate business users by providing tutorials and training both via youtube and onsite. We think once people understand the practical use of the applications they will be more willing to adopt these unique features of their windows counterparts. Our compiz-fusion howto videos can be found at and we are also working as much as possible with the Ubuntu community to help get multiple monitor systems up and running with compiz-fusion via: . We look forward to producing more videos and tutorials everyone can use in the future as well as contributing in development anyway we can. As mentioned by a user above, we too have migrated to linux/ubuntu on our desktops mostly because of compiz-fusion!


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.